Practice Spots in Sacramento

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

pfhil

Reaction score
Hi Guys and Gals...

I'm new to the sport, having just over 10 dives. I was wondering, given my distance to the ocean (2-3 hours), are there any public areas around Sacramento where I could practice? I'm thinking public pools, lakes, etc.

Thanks!

Check with the LDS's around your area and see if there's any clubs you could join. I'm sure they'll be able to help you.

Hi Guys and Gals...

I'm new to the sport, having just over 10 dives. I was wondering, given my distance to the ocean (2-3 hours), are there any public areas around Sacramento where I could practice? I'm thinking public pools, lakes, etc.

Thanks!

There are a couple of lakes that are available - but both don't have the greatest viz... Folsom and Lake Natoma. I've heard that a couple of shops here do do some diving in these (Scuba World and one shop in folsom, which I think is Fish Eye). However, right now the water is pretty chilly since it's got a lot of snow runoff right now from the mountains.

For pools, there's always the YMCA downtown which has an indoor pool, or the Swimstitute in Rancho which also is indoors. I don't know of any others off hand.