PFO/ DCS question

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Nailer99

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Just doing a little research, here. I'm very new to diving, and just got interested in so called "undeserved" hits- I get the part about how anybody at any time can suffer DCS, even on a consevative dive, well within established NDLs. What I don't quite grasp is why everyone's first question to someone who posts about an undeserved hit here is whether they've been tested for PFO (patent foramen ovali, or some such). A quick side trip to google tells me this is a defect in the heart, which can allow blood to backflow....or bypass the lungs, in certain circumstances.....can this lead to DCS because certain volumes of blood are not able to offgas nitrogen every time they "miss" the lungs? Leading to higher than reasonably anticipated Nitrogen levels? I bet I just answered my own question here, but....it just seems like if that is the mechanism, the person with the PFO would be....well, sickly or something, due to inadequate gas exchange in the course of their normal life....like, they'd get out of breath really easily and what not...If you're not getting enough blood to your lungs to offgas nitrogen on ascent, how can you be getting enough o2 in non-diving life to be in good enough shape to be a diver in the first place? Is there some relationship to pressure at depth I'm not getting, here?