Panic in OW - advice needed

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Jamba

Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi all,
I am new to diving and finished my open water about three weeks ago. Unforunatelly my check out dives did not turn out the way I wished they had and I would like to ask the more experienced folks for some advice, since this experience messed really bad with my mind and confidence in persuing diving.

I do not want this post to become endless, so I will try to cut it best I can.

I was always fascinated by the beauties of the underwater world but I always had a lot of respect for scuba diving and there has always been some kind of feeling/anxiety that kept me from trying scuba. Recently I kept thinking a lot about it and if it was a „fear“ that resulted from not knowing anything about scuba (like the typical “What if……” ) or just my immagination how I “would” feel.

I took a “Try Scuba” class (pool) prior to my open water to find out how I really felt about it and if I wanted to take the class. I talked about my concerns with the instructor and was doing totally fine. I did not have any problems with any of the skills during “try scuba” or my OW sessions . It was a 2 week course, I had a really good instructor!, we were only two students and got a LOT of personal attention.