Over-balanced regulators

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

rvojr

ScubaBoard Supporter
ScubaBoard Supporter
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I've been using D6 regs for 3 years now. Is there a noticeable difference with overbalanced regs vs standard balanced diaphragm regulators at 100-150'? When I take the regulator training, hopefully I'll be able to tune them better moving forward. I was thinking of getting the Apeks MTX or my local dive shop recommends Hollis DCX which has a fifth port which helps with routing in my opinion. Does anyone have positive or negative opinions of the Hollis or Apeks? Thanks!!

I have nothing positive to say about Hollis/Huish as a company, and nothing about their regs will be better than D6. Their customer and dealer support is trash and their regs are just "fine".
I have nothing positive to say about Apeks/Aqualung as a company, and there is nothing about their regs that will be better than the D6 with the exception of the wide exhaust T's which I am begging @LandonL to implement. Their CS is also trash and their regulators have inferior plating compared to Deep6. The wide exhaust T's is the only thing from Apeks that the Deep6 Signature series isn't objectively better.