Oceanlog 2.2.4 pretty buggy

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

TheStosh

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
I'm really glad that Oceanic continues to release updates to their oceanlog software as I have been using it since 2004 and have been able to download around 350 of my dive profiles. I love having access to all that data.

Their software has always been a bit clumsy and it is built on an Access Database, so it is a little limited.

I like the new look of the dive details page.
I like that they added the city/state/country info to the location page.
I think I like the new GPS field, but I'm not sure how they intend for us to use it in any meaningfully way.

I really welcome some of the new features in the last couple versions, but the bugs are wearing me out.

There are some serious issues around the location fields where data from other dives is propagated onto recently downloaded dives. Changing the info in these fields does not always apply correctly either. Changing the location field also freezes the program at times for several seconds before you can move to other fields.

Since the last upgrade, all my dives are tagged with the resort and dive boat from a dive I did in Belize. It is as if it saw the info on one dive and decided all of my dives should be the same.

Temperatures are incorrectly recorded on the location page. Bottom temperature is propagated out to the fields for surface temp and air temp.