Oceanic vs Mares vs Suunto Algorithm

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

audiotyro

Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Eternal newbie here. My wife and I dive using Suunto. My teenage son recently got certified and I want to get an inexpensive dive comp. I saw Oceanic Veo 100 and Mares Puck in leisurepro. From what I understand dive comps use algorithms to do what they do. Would the algorithms of the 3 brands be different enough to be concerned about? Thanks.

Especially with multiple dives, the Suunto computers tend to be much more consrvative & the Oceanic computers more liberal (sorry, I know nothing of Mares products). I've dove Suuntos for the last few years & when I was on a trip with a buddy who has an Oceanic computer, I was only a couple miuntes from decompression & he was nowhere near, so we based our dives NDL's off of my computer. If you 3 are going to dive as buddies or a team of 3 & going to stay within NDL's then you base your NDL's off of the most consrevative computer. If air, or a time limit is not the limiting factor, then the team goes with the diver who is closest to decompression, based on what is decided in the pre- dive plan. Conservatism isn't necessarily a bad thing. The biggest concern would be if your son dove with another diver with another liberal computer. It all just depends on what you decide is the better decompression model to follow.

The Mares puck uses a non iterative version of RGBM. As the Suunto uses a non iterative RGBM, they should be "similar".