Northern NY diving

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

lmghsowl

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hey,

I got my OW certification about a year ago. I'm a student in Potsdam, NY and are looking to dive a couple of times this summer. I'm willing to travel some (3-4 hr) to get to dive locations especially if it turns into a dive weekend. Are there any dive shops within that distance that I could hook up with as far as weekend trip and renting gear? I'm not overly familiar with this area as far as diving goes.

I beleive Hunt's Dive Shop in Alexandria Bay rents gear (I know they rent tanks, not sure about the other stuff).

There's a nice easy shore dive behind the hospital in A-Bay called The Islander.

On the US side, Hunts runs trips on the river pretty much all summer.

Sometimes he goes to The Keystorm, which is a nice wreck and not difficult, although a little deep if you don't stay near the top. It runs from around 50' (approx) to 100'.

Terry

lmghsowl:
Hey,

I got my OW certification about a year ago. I'm a student in Potsdam, NY and are looking to dive a couple of times this summer. I'm willing to travel some (3-4 hr) to get to dive locations especially if it turns into a dive weekend. Are there any dive shops within that distance that I could hook up with as far as weekend trip and renting gear? I'm not overly familiar with this area as far as diving goes.

Web Monkey: