Newbie looking for housings

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ckaspar

Registered
Reaction score
Hey guys!

I am fairly new to diving and am very new to photography, espescially underwater, and wanted to see if you guys could help me out.

I am trying to see if someone makes housingsfor cameras that I currently own. I am not looking for anything production ready I just need something that I can take to a decent depth and take decent photos.

I have a Kodak Easyshare Digital Camera and I have looked everywhere and can't find a housing for it.

I also have a Sanyo VM-R-22R Video Camera that was given to me by my fathher a few years ago.

I understand that manufacturers make housings for very few cameras but wanted see if you guys knew of a way to accomplish my goal.

Thanks in advance.

ckaspar:
I also have a Sanyo VM-R-22R Video Camera that was given to me by my father a few years ago.

Hi,

First of all I'm assuming that you have a VMR-Z2R camcorder. I couldn't find any listing for a VMR-22R camcorder. No one makes a specific housing for Samsung camcorders that I'm aware of. There are however several manufacturers of generic tube-type mechanical housings that will work with your camcorder.

Check Aquatix, Atmo-Seal or Yellow Jacket on the Video Housing mfr's list that's near the top of this forum. You should be able to house your camcorder in any of them, given that it's within the dimensions they specify on their websites, you'll also get mechanical control of the Standby/Record button with Aquatix or Atmo-Seal.