New to SCUBA...and new to U/W photography

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Ruxton

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
As the title states, I'm new to SCUBA (just got my OW last month and will be going to get my Advanced Adventure dives done next month). I've done some reading and decided on the TG-4 camera as I liked the features I saw but now I'm at the split in the road between housings and strobes/lights. Presently considering Ikelite housings as well as Olympus housings. Same for the strobes/lights. Looking for some good/bad stories on each so I can do some more research before my next set of dives so I can have my camera rigged and ready. Any and all help is appreciated. I know there's things I need to work on as a diver to have good pictures, so that's understood. But what I'm looking for is the combination of gear/rigs and the capability that rig gives me. I'm not totally sure of some of the potential compatibility issues, if any. Kinda feels like the first time I built my own PC...

TIA.

As a not so experienced diver who started photography too soon in many ways (i.e. Around my 20th dive)...focus on diving first. On perfect situational awareness. On bouyancy control that does not require a lot of conscious thought but that can run as a 'background process'.