New to diving...looking at wetsuit

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

danthemanj

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi All,

I'm new to diving, new to the board and as many have done before me, am looking for gear. I'm working on my certification and just finished my first pool dive. I needed some advice on purchasing wetsuits since this will be my first wetsuit purchase. I live in New Jersey but intend to dive both out of NJ (in summer) and vacation dive in the Caribbean. I was hoping I could buy a standard wetsuit that would serve both locations but I'm guessing that won't be possible. The next best thing I though of is of buying a wetsuit that I could possibly use in the Caribbean and then add a layer for NJ diving. I was looking at the Mares Trilastic 7/5/3. Scuba.com has it for a decent price but when I asked my instructor about the Trilastics she mentioned not to buy anything that wasn't a standard thickness. Would you guys and gals recommend going this route or buying two seperate wetsuits. Of course money is always an issue. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Dan

It's not going to happen.

For NJ you will want a full 7mm with 2X on your core This may be a fullsuit and vest or a farmer John & jacket combo. The last thing you want to do is trade away neoprene on your arm with thinner sleeves. One of the greatest dive enders is cold hands. Lightly protected arms promote cold hands, short and simple.