New to Board

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Em_Dee

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hello fellow Texans!

I am new to the scuba board, although I have been "lurking" for quite some time. (see my thread on the Intro and Greets)

Just a little history: I have been diving for a little over 2 years now, I don't get to dive much. I have logged 18 dives, mostly in Texas at Blue Lagoon. Some dives at Windy Point, Lake Travis and a trip to Belize last year. The Belize trip had terrible weather and we did not get to go outside the reef, which limited us to several 30 ft. dives in what was still rough conditions. After that, I did some dives at Lake Travis, where I got some more experience with the deep and murk that Texas is so famous for.

I am going to be taking an AOW class 7/31-8/1 through a dive shop here in Houston. I hear we are going to Lake Travis for both days at Windy Point.

I am not much of a camper, does anyone know of any decent hotels close by? I have done online searches, came up with a couple of B&Bs.

Also, I am looking to get to know some new dive buddies. My husband is also a diver, but our work schedules are not enabling us to dive together much anymore. So if I want to dive, I need put away the shyness and get out to meet some of you!

Thanks!
-MD

WELCOME!!! I'm up in DFW area if you ever head this way let some of us know and we'll hook up with you!! There is a number of Swampers in your area and I'm sure they will chime in here shortly!!

Again... welcome!