Need help to make a choice

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Katolix

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Dear All,

I’m quite new to diving and I’m going to buy my first 5-mm wetsuit. It’s important to mention that I’m located quite far from diving sites and at best I’ll have a couple dive tours a year in the nearest future (Red Sea mostly, summer or winter). I’m quite tolerant to could, but nothing particular or extreme :snowbear:

Our LDS offer not many choices of wetsuit brands for recreational diving: Aqualung, Beuchat and Waterproof. I wouldn’t say I’m short in budget and I can’t afford the top suite set of any brand, but I’d rather save some money for other gear or another hobby. I’m breaking between two choices that seem to be best fit for my needs (implying both fit well when tried on). First one is Aqualung Balance Comfort which comprises 5.5 mm jumpsuit, over vest (5.5 mm shorty) and separate 5.5 mm hood. The price is about $600. The second option is Waterproof Lynx. I looked at both in the LDS and the last one has really outstanding quality, anatomic design and military price - $480 for jumpsuit only. The hooded over vest can be purchased separately with price of $300 (over vest w/o hood is also available). So the total price for Waterproof Lynx would be $780. Too much for the novice diver, isn’t it? :526: