Need help from C5050/PT-015 users

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

10X

Reaction score
Whenever I opened my PT-015 housing, it was very tight and appeared to be well sealed. I had to work at it to get it open. This was right from the factory that way and was rarely opened except for using it on one dive.

Tonight I cleaned the o-rings and grooves for the first time. I'm just getting started so this is the first cleaning after I used it on the dive.

I put everything back together and it doesn't seal like it did before. It acts as though the door is warped. I have removed/replaced the o-rings twice to make sure they are in properly, but it didn't change anything.

It appears that the o-rings are in their grooves properly and not protruding anywhere.

When I do close the door all the way, near the lock, I can insert my fingernail between the door and case.

It's as if something near the hinge is forcing the door open.

Is this normal because the o-rings have been removed/replaced, or does it sound like there is something wrong?

Thanks for the help.

I'm a PT-010 user but the case is basically the same except you have two O-rings.
Don't leave the O-rings in the housing. Store them in a baggy looped over once then inside the housing. It was probably tough to open the first time because it was laying around for a long time before you bought it.
If you think something has happened to the housing and have a bad feeling about it then don't use it until you test it.