Need bag recommendation

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

glashoppah

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I've been using a rolling sports duffle for a few years that has some cool features, but I finally had to take some weights with me on a trip and the bag just broke (I'm on that trip right now and have to get a bag ASAP). It couldn't handle 65 pounds of gear and lead. The base snapped and I had to drag the thing 1/4 mile thru an airport. It was the most exercise I've had in 5 years. Thought I was going to have a heart attack. I know this thing won't make it back home.

The good news is I'm in Fort Lauderdale and there appears to be plenty of places near me to buy gear. So let me have it - I need your recommendations.

Requirements:

1. Must be able to handle a full set of dive gear including a 2mm shorty and 26 pounds of lead.
2. I'd prefer it not have too many specialized "pockets" - for example, the silly "fin pockets" on some dive bags are skinny and won't accept my Scubapro XL Jet Fins.
3. Must roll and have a handle.
4. Must last longer than 1 dive trip, including handling by airport personnel. :)

Money isn't as important as built-like-a-tank durability.

H.

If you can afford it, a Stahlsac bag is one of the best bags you can buy! And it'll last a long time. Built like a brick you-know-what.