My first trip to Tiger Beach

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

mike black

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
Its been seven years sense my first Tiger Beach trip. I was a newly hired cook aboard the MV Shear Water, working for Jim Abernethy, and although Jim and I no longer work together I did learne a lot from him. When I was hired Jim asked me how I felt about sharks, the truth was I was scared of them and had no intentions of making a career out of diving with them. I played it cool and was happy to hear that my job was to cook and diving was optional.

Day one Dive one:
It was fantastic, it was actually the first time I dove in the Bahamas and the crystal clear water along with the gorgeous reef was enough to make any diver happy. The only problem for me at the time is that there were sharks every where. I listened closely to Jim’s extremely long and scary briefing, which could be summed up with something he repeated several times, "The job of the shark is to eat the dead, dying, diseased, and the dumb!"