My advice to new divers

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

formernuke

ScubaBoard Supporter
ScubaBoard Supporter
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
I just don't log dives
This is my personal advice to those who are brand new to diving. I'm targeting those who are considering getting into the sport, currently in OW or just out of OW.

I am not a professional and I not pretend to know everything about this sport. This is based on my experience and the experience of those I know.

I am only talking about new or recently made gear.

First I often see the question is this piece of equipment good. The short answer is always yes that is good equipment provided it is from a common manufacturer. What do I mean by this, a regulator if attached to a tank will provide air where it needs to go, a BC will hold air and vent air etc therefore it is "good" equipment, the manufactures will not make unsafe equipment. The question should be is this good for me. That is much more complex as you need to look at your diving plans and goals etc.

Second I'm only talking recreational if you want to go tec or cave find your local tec and cave divers and follow there advice.So lets start.

Mask:
The first and most important consideration with a mask is does it fit your face right. Fit is very personal, I went through several before I found one that fit right. After fit then look at color, black vs clear skirt etc. In other words go to shops and try as many as you can and go for the one that fits the best.

Fins: