Moving to TX, need info

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

EMTPDiver

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
I'm a Fish!
OK, so I am a paramedic/ER tech/medevac flight coordinator (3 jobs-lame!) who is moving with my wife and daughter to Ft Worth next summer ('08). I would like to know a couple things before moving there. First, I am interested in what diving sites are readily available near Dallas/FW. I am from Alaska, and that means first and foremost I am used to poor visibility and cold water; in fact I dove in water in the 30's F and less than 5 ft vis a few days ago, and needed almost constant use of a compass to keep my bearings straight. It was cool, in a way, but it also sucked since I also have done alot of diving in Hawaii and Fiji where water is gin clear and warm. So, anyhow, what spots do you super-cool swamp diving guys recommend? If you could recommend spots based on visibility, interesting bottom terrain, ease of diving (like currents, nasty waterplants like we have here, gnarly thermoclines, etc.) and abundance of wildlife, that would be awesome.