Looking for my first pair of fins

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

crealque

New
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to diving and i'm looking for my first pair of fins. I'm looking for open heel fins that I can use with dive boots and are on the lower to mid budget scale. I'm not really a strong swimmer. The power of my kicks of my left and right legs are kinda unbalanced (I have an old injury on my left knee so the left leg is weaker than my right.) I do find myself struggling a little using the basic rented fins during my OW certification.

I've visited a few dive shops and I'm getting mixed advice about the type of fins that I should go for. Some advised that split fins are better, some advised that split fins are overrated and expensive and I should for something like a softer fin. The split fins that I saw are kinda expensive, but I've never tried them before, I'm not sure how they good are they. Kinda wanna be pretty sure before I make my decision.

What type of fins would you recommend? Any particular brand/model that I should look out for?

FYI, I was looking at Oceanic viper/vortex, TUSA imprex/expert, but i'm willing to look for other model/brands.

The TUSA Imprex is a good fin. My oldest son has a pair and likes them. I have a pair of TUSA Liberators and I like them. Either is a good fin and the price is reasonable. If you can, try a pair of the TUSAs.

Personally, I do not like split fins.