looking for info....

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jbichsel

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
I'll admit, I'm new to UW photography, so I'm open to input.

I'm currently using a Sealife Reefmaster RC, 35mm. No external strobe, just the camera and housing. I'd say about 75% of my photos come out average or better with about 5% quite nice. But I know there is so much else waiting.

I want to go digital.

I know the Oly c-5050 is a good camera however I have heard that the PT-015 housing has some issues.

I already have a Nikon Coolpix 5700 which takes fantastic photos on land.

Here's where I need input. Given this situation, would you:

A) Spend $790 for the Ikelite housing for the 5700, add strobe(s).

B) Invest in another digital camera, housing, strobe(s).

Thanks for any and all input.

What are the most important considerations for you?

Is digital more important than money? Is quality or convenience more important? How well do you like shooting with your Nikon? Do you need a strobe to shoot where you are?

If you need a strobe and money is tight, get a light for your reefmaster and have your film scanned at the time of processing.

If you love your Nikon ( like I do all of mine), get the housing and strobes for it.

If you are a gear junkie with a bottomless buget...
Let me know and I'll tell you what my wish list looks like...

Brian

jbichsel:
I know the Oly c-5050 is a good camera however I have heard that the PT-015 housing has some issues.