LIfe Threatening Dive Experience - Fiji

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

billmcentee

Registered
Reaction score
Hi,
My wife and I just returned from a dive trip in Fiji and I wanted to let you all know about a life threatening dive experience that we encountered on our first day of diving there.

Let me state at the beginning that my wife and I are long time divers. I've been diving for almost 20 years and my wife has been diving for about 12 years and I've logged close to 600 dives and we have never experienced anything like what we encountered.

We left from Boston on a Friday and 32 hours of traveling we arrived at the Matava Resort on the Kadavu Island. Other than long travel time, our dive vacation was going splendid. Now, we chose this rustic dive resort because it was very close to the reefs (only 15 minutes out by boat). After a pleasant dinner and a good night of sleep, we were ready for our first day of diving.

Well, a storm has just come by the day before and the water was a bit rough and the dive master and boat captain decided that that main reefs were too rough to dive, so they decided that the best thing to do was to go to the end of the island about 50 minutes from the resort and dive near some tiny very remote islands instead.