Learning side mount with out instructor?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Bigeclipse

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I recently decided I may give side mount a try. Unfortunately in my area there are little to no side mount divers and I do not have the time or means to travel to do a class. That being said, I have self taught myself a LOT with regards to scuba (outside of the actual courses I have taken such as intro to tech TDI and deep diver PADI certs). I always dive with a buddy when trying new things and it is always in very shallow waters. For example, switching when I switched from a BCD to a BP/W setup, then going to a long hose setup, to diving dry, then back mounted doubles, and finally rebuilding my own regulators ...etc. I understand the overall setup for side mount but I also hear it makes a world of difference having an instructor who knows side mount well. I am wondering if there are some of you who are self taught side mount divers. How was the learning process? Lessons learned? Did you ever feel unsafe? Again, I will be doing this with a buddy who has a lot of experience when it comes to diving...just not side mount diving and I will be doing it in a very calm lake in very shallow waters. I never rush things and would practice a lot in shallow waters (20ft or less) before every considering deeper waters. Anything else to think about?

The road is long when done by yourself, you don't know what you don't know. And it's can be a painful process. With a lot of trial and error.