Is this used regulator a good idea?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Diveguy1738

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
None - Not Certified
I’m new to diving, just became open water certified and have fallen in love with diving. I’m trying to save some money on buying a used regulator and bcd because I plan on going all out on my drysuit and not cheap out at all. But the problem is I don’t know jack about equipment, so I need your help. I’m looking at this regulator as an option, from what I understand it’s a great regulator but very old. I fell in love with scuba so much I plan on doing it for occupational purposes in the near future. So I want equipment that will be good enough for Atlantic Canadian water temperature (summer and winter) as well as good for depths to 100 feet. This regulator set is going for just under 500$. Do I need to dig deeper into my pockets for a regulator or do you think this might be a great option for me?

Attachments

• IMG_0368.png
    IMG_0368.png
    354.3 KB · Views: 81
As you have already mentioned, you don't know what you don't know; and I would discourage any novice from buying used equipment -- regulators in particular, since they'll have to be serviced before use, which could add anywhere from US 100.00 to 150.00 to an already overpriced purchase; and since you also mentioned that the gear is older, there is also no guarantee that replacement parts and service kits parts will even be available . . .