Is a UW photographer a drag?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

gem1

Registered
Reaction score
I'm new at diving (20) dives total. So far I have had boat dives in Jamaica and Cozumel. Each time I was the least experienced diver and I got the distinct feeling of being a visitor at some exclusive club function. My problem is I would also like to take pictures to show my non diving friends. I know this would slow me down in relation to other non-photographing divers.

Is it rude to do this to others on a dive boat? Should I say what the hey and do it anyway? Should I wait until I have additional dives under my belt? Cameras are just extra gear that can cause a SNAFU and be potentially hazardous to health.

What are some of the experiences of others?

I'm new at diving (20) dives total. So far I have had boat dives in Jamaica and Cozumel. Each time I was the least experienced diver and I got the distinct feeling of being a visitor at some exclusive club function.
Sorry to hear that. Divers are generally more friendly and helpful than the average person. However there is a minority of Dive Jerks out there. One type is the Dive Snob that has forgotten that he was new and nervous once. He rolls his eyes at anyone with gear problems, yet doesn't offer to help. Don't let them get you down, luckily there are not a lot of them.