Interested in learning how to scuba dive

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Watergirl
I have been teaching diving for aboput 20 years and I have seen a lot.

I will try and help you with some answers to your questions

1 - What places would you recommend for instruction?

choose a place that is close to your home, but keep in mind some things I will point out below. when picking a shop ask them how long they have been there. dive shops basicly fall into two catagories
A - a divers dive shop - this is a shop run by a diver for divers, but the down side is that they generaly only want to talk to you if you come in there with sea weed hanging from your shorts. the upside is that they are probably the most up to date on the real world of diving
B - A retail dive shop - this one is interested in selling you stuff, they probably have the best selection of gear, and a wide variety of courses, but it can be like buying a used car. don't take just their advise on whats best, because their advise will reflect just what they sell. they are probley the ones offering the cheapest courses to get you in the door

both types have pros and cons you need to sort through them.

2. What questions should I ask the instructors to make sure that I will be safe during the classes and happy with my teaching?
first when you go to the shop ask to speak to the instructor who will be teaching the course, make sure there is personality compatability and also no language barrier.