Interested in a primary light for less than $400, opinions wanted!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

cobbonthecorn

Contributor
Reaction score
Admittedly I have little or no experience with quality lights. All of my night dives were with the free to use stuff and it got me by. I've read the threads and most tend to stretch the budget beyond $400 pretty fast, or are fairly dated. Now I am looking to take the next step and buy a good primary light. I don't plan on cave diving, but am considering some light wreck penetration and certainly open water night diving. Any ideas? Thanks in advance!

If you are not planning to do any cave diving, you can probably get by with a lot less than $400. I used my canister light on a night dive once and thought i was blinding every living creature on the reef so I switched to my backup. On a reef night dive, i prefer less light to more light.

By light wreck penetration, I am guessing you mean you can still see natural light through an exit and have little or no silt to worry about. With that said, for night and light wreck, I would carrry a backup and a primary light. For a backup, you could consider a Tec40 or an Intova. For a primary, you could consider a Photon Torpedo LED or a UK LED C-8 or C-4. We own all of these except for the Intova (which I will buy this weekend) and they have all performed well. One of our Tec 40s flooded and it was repaced without questions.

If your wreck diving is more than I described, you may need to get an answer from someone else.