Inspection costs?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

kiarny

New
Reaction score
I am new to scuba, and have been shopping for equipment. My LDS charges full retail for all his equipment and does not seem to want to budge on prices.
He tells me that if I buy a regulator from him, then it will only need yearly inspections, which cost $70.00. If I buy from anywhere else, (like the internet) the first inspection will be at least $190, even for brand new stuff!.
Does this sound right?

Check the phone book. There may be another dive shop in the area willing to have you as a customer. The shop you were in probably just lost one.

kiarny:
I am new to scuba, and have been shopping for equipment. My LDS charges full retail for all his equipment and does not seem to want to budge on prices.
He tells me that if I buy a regulator from him, then it will only need yearly inspections, which cost $70.00. If I buy from anywhere else, (like the internet) the first inspection will be at least $190, even for brand new stuff!.
Does this sound right?

A shop here charges $40 plus parts for a complete overhaul of reg and octo. An anual inspection only is $15.00 (assuming no work is required) Some shops charge more but $190 is completely out of line. Are there no other dive shops in your area?