I want the most epic whale shark photos & need pointers

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DevilEyeDog

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Heading to Cozumel in a month and will be making the very touristy whale shark (WS) tour. I have two cameras (Olympus TG5 and Sony a6500). I'll be using the Sony a6500 for the WS. I'm a better macro photographer so big stuff always challenges me. And this will be a moving (not a wreck) animal that is huge.

Talk to me about lenses. I'm thinking strobes are useless, but maybe not? Maybe it's better to just grab the go-pro and head in? How does one shoot photos of the WS that are decent?

Thanks for any pointers!

Do you have a Wide Angle lens for your Sony?

I've only shot Whale Sharks with a DSLR, but never been to Coz.

Try and get in front of them for a head on shot if possible, wear decent fins to swim with them, they can swim pretty fast.

full

Have a GoPro mounted on the hot shoe of your camera so you can take pictures and video at the same time. Just in case you do not get the picture the way you want it, you have back up video that you can screen capture the right moment from the video.

I shoot Whaleshark videos with GoPro 3, 6 & 9 in Holbox, Isla Mujeres, Socorro, Cocos, Malpelo, Jardines de la Reina, Cendrawasih Bay.