I Hope I Didnt Mess Up

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ingreevox

Registered
Reaction score
WHILE ENJOYING MY FIRST INLAND DIVE SINCE MY CERTIFICATION, I DOVE 3 DIVES OVER 2 DAYS.
THE FIRST DIVE WAS TO 50 FT, NO PROBLEMS.
DIVE #2/ THE NEXT DAY/ WAS TO 65 FEET, WITH A 35 FOOT ENDING, AND UP.
THE LAST DIVE WAS NEVER DONE. i COULD NOT CLEAR BELOW 15 FEET, AND HAD TO ABORT THE DIVE.

BEING A PRO MUSICIAN, I HAVE SUFFERED SOME TINNITUS IN MY EARS, BUT SINCE THE DAY AFTER THE DIVE, MY EARS HAVE FELT STOPPED UP.
I AM NOT DIZZY, BUT IT FEELS LIKE AN ALLERGY THING, AND I HOPE IT WASNT A DIVING THING.
I OBEYED MY PADI TABLES, BUT I AM A NEWBY, SO I MAY HAVE GOOFED, EVEN THOUGH I DONT THINK I DID.

HELP
DOUG

Howdy ingreevox:

Welcome to Scubaboard! You don't really ask a question, so it's a little hard to figure out just what you're looking for, but I'll take a stab at it.

Since you posted in the Ask Dr. Deco forum rather than the Diving Medicine forum I'm going to assume that you want to know whether you've suffered a decompression injury due to dissolved nitrogen. Rest assured that having your ears feel like they're "stopped up" in the absence of other findings would be a very unlikely symptom of a decompression illness.

On the other hand, middle ear barotrauma- a pressure injury to the ear from inadequate equalization- is the most common dive medicine malady and is frequently associated with the feeling of your ears being "stopped up", particularly after needing to abort a dive after having trouble clearing.