I have no idea...

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

mattymatt

Registered
Reaction score
I am new to diving and trying to decide on a regulator. These are my two choices, so please evaluate these two (2) only and give me your recommendations. I will be diving primarily warm water and New Jersey in the summer.

1) Mares V16 Proton
or
2) ScubaPro MK16/S550

Here at work we use the Protons as our instructor/staff regs and I've got to say that I've had no complaints. Nice low profile, good performance despite some teething issues when they were first introduced. My only complaint is that due to their small size, exhaust bubbles will wind up smack dab in your field of view while stationary. I've dove it down to 49F with no problems. Doing our annuals on our first and seconds stages, will be doing the Proton in the next couple of days.

Now that I've sung it's praises.... why these regs? Price? I would recommend that you give the MR22 Abyss a look too. Sure it's a bit more ($140 difference on LP), but from where I'm sitting you don't get much better reviews than this:

http://www.mares.com/NS_NewsView.asp?news=55

mattymatt:
I am new to diving and trying to decide on a regulator. These are my two choices, so please evaluate these two (2) only and give me your recommendations. I will be diving primarily warm water and New Jersey in the summer.

1) Mares V16 Proton
or
2) ScubaPro MK16/S550

Since we can only comment on the two you've chosen for your list, I guess I'll have to refrain... :(