How to deal with a certain phobia?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jared w

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
So,
My wife and I are relatively new divers. We've been to Cozumel twice and to local dive sites a couple times. I am still learning and have a long way to go but I am very comfortable under water. My wife is not.

My wife was taught to swim by holding her nose when her face was under water and this seems to have created a real problem. She can not, at all, take her mask off and swim under water without pinching her nose. If she tries she panics, breathes water up her nose and generally shoots to the surface. She managed to get it under control for the certification but the fear is back.

I'm pretty worried that this is a big problem. If she got a mask kicked off at depth I could see her freaking out and drowning. She can't even stick her face in a bath tub without experiencing this fear/reaction. As a spouse I am worried but clearly not the one to work her through this.

Right now she does shallower dives and dives less than half the times I do due to nervousness. She enjoys diving but I want to make sure she is safe.

Has anyone dealt with this fear and overcome it? We've tried private lessons, swimming pool sessions, etc. No luck. So far she says it is ok with her to go on dive trips and dive only a few times as long as it is in a pretty place but this feels wrong to me.

Thanks for the help.

If time and gentle practice don't help her, maybe she just is not cut out to dive.