HOG BP2 vs D1 vs Dive Rite RG3100

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

mattlavallee

Registered
Reaction score
Looking for a little advice after reading much commentary. I've been diving a SP MK11 for about 4 years, but I'm interested in a reg for the long haul that I can easily get parts for and learn to service. I'm not concerned about micro-scale ease of breathing comparisons or who copied whose design. I'll probably keep the MK11 as a spare set.

I was was originally debating between D1 and RG3100 packages from DRIS and DGE since both are in the $350-400 range, but then I saw a BP2 package at Divers Supply for $270. That seems really tough to beat. Most of my dives are in 50ish degree salt water for now, but I'll be moving soon to areas where I expect warmer temps. I'm good about rinsing/soaking gear after dives. Are there any reasons why a diaphragm would be a better buy?

On a separate note, with the newer regs it looks like Dive Rite is moving away from its more open policy on reg service. Is it likely that parts will remain easily available for older models?

No reason really not to get the piston although my preference would be a diaphragm reg because of its sealed design.
Long term support and availability of parts for the owner/tech....who knows? I expect even if open manufacturer support dries up the usual "backdoor" avenue will still be there.

The two companies which still support much of their back catalogue are Scubapro and USD/Aqualung.