Highland Power Fins

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

greenblayza

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Poking around for some new fins and on DGX they only sell Highland Power Fins. Never heard of them (though, I'm no expert on fins by any means), but really like Scubapro Jet Fins. Was wondering how people feel about the differences in old school paddle fins between brands - I mean, they all look the same..

I have both and mostly use the Power Fins. They're only similar, not the same. The Jets are a little wider @ the middle and feel stiffer. The power Fins seem a little "slipperier." They're not made in Scotland. Funny name though.

Jets in the middle, Power Fins on the right:
fins_front.jpg
fins_rear.jpg

Last edited:
Great, thanks for the picture reference!

I'll be travelling (backpacking) with them so it looks like it might make more sense to go with the Highlands.

I see the Highland Power fins are featured here:

XSS_FN200_Group-640.jpg
Classic Fins and Universal S/S Spring Straps - Dive Gear Express

I can confirm that they aren't made in Scotland. I live in the UK, where fin production appears to have ceased.

I'm curious about Evad's Idi Power fins:
o_PkmBXEaQmIOnGsj.jpg
IDI Frog Foot Scuba Diving Fins Dive 24in. L-Used-Water For Sale

I see they come with a hump-like corrugation down the top of the blade and a corresponding hollow on the reverse. I've seen the same feature on Süper Star full-foot fins made by the Turkish manufacturer Şener Kauçuk:
d_1.jpg