Hi, new Divecon candidate with some gear Q's

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Sprocket

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hi,

I recently started my divecon at a local shop down here in Adelaide, so far we've done the first 5 chapters of theory, and will be in the pool for the first time next week.

A couple of reasons I picked this particular shop are:
a) It's one of the only SSI shops around down here and I enjoyed having a yarn with the staff. I'm new to Adelaide and they knew the owner of the shop I was diving though back in Sydney.

b) The owner is a mad keen cave diver and all the staff are tech/cave divers, and it's sort of expected I will go down that route too, which I'm more than happy to do. From what they've told me, they train OW students with secondaries on necklaces and long hose primaries.

A couple of nights ago the owner/instructor brought up the issue of gear. . . They deal for Scubapro, Halcyon and Inspiration. None of my gear is any of that and none of it is tech at all (Aeris regs/computer, Zeagle Ranger, Bare drysuit, etc). He's happy for me to use hire gear for teaching for now, but expects me to switch eventually.