Help with mask clear in cold water

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jakemaddox

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hey everyone. I seem to have a unique problem with my mask clear skill that I’ve been struggling with for a while.

Backstory, I started learning to dive in 2020 but hit a stall very quickly when I first tried the mask flood in a pool. It took me a good few months but eventually I’ve been able to get to the point where the pool is no issue. I signed off as scuba diver whilst I was abroad a few years ago, and then this year as open water and advanced whilst in Thailand. However, as I dive in the uk I really want this skill nailed in cold water for my own safety and ability to progress.

I had a few gos this weekend whilst diving a local quarry, and although I’d say I have made progress (as I can sit there with a mask full of water and breathe ok) I still no matter how hard I try get air to come out and of my nose to clear it. It’s also to the point where I’m trying so hard to blow out its all going down my throat and making me burp like crazy 😂

I was just wandering has anyone dealt with an issue with this skill to this extent?

I have spent hours practising in my bathroom filling with cold water, I’m a very good nasal breather, I’ve even been to the doctors to get my sinuses checked out (was put on avamys as there was some swelling)

Another thing I was thinking of trying as stupid as it may look is taking some swimming goggles and sitting shallow to practise blowing out my nose underwater 😂