Help "figuring out" cenote diving

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Jake

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hi all-

Some friends and I are looking at a Cozumel trip in February. I'd love to dive some cenotes while I'm there if possible.

I'm an expert diver with a decent amount of overhead environment experience including wreck penetration, but my friends don't have this. Since it may be relevant in a moment, I'll mention general levels of experience for them. Note that all have good overall fitness and are competent, conscientious divers.
  1. Advanced O/W with about 50 dives including exterior of the Yukon wreck in San Diego and dry suit with whales in Norway. Adventurous but can also be a bit timid about things on occasion. Almost always happy they did the experience after initial hesitation, if any.
  2. Advance O/W with about 75 dives. Very adventurous and aggressive about diving. Yukon wreck, lots of night and hunting dives, not really afraid of anything. I mentioned cenote diving to them and the experience gave them a little pause because of overhead and potential for silt outs. Still interested in going.
  3. Diver 3 is basically the same as diver 2.

So with all of us in mind, I'm wondering:

1. Are there any requirements in Mexico that divers must have certain experience before diving cenotes?