Help deciding on HP Tank Size

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

diverrobs

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
I am new to diving and have all my gear except tanks. I am seriously considering spending the $800 or so on two HP tanks but am having a hard time deciding what to buy. I did a little figuring on my spread sheet and have figured the following out given that I am diving with my dry suit and need 18lbs with an Al80 tank.

Tank Weights Tank Weight Total Weight Pre Dive Post Dive
Al80 18 31.4 49.4 -6 Neutral
HP80 11 28 39 -6 Neutral
HP100 11 33 44 -7.5 Neutral
HP120 12 38 50 -9 Neutral

Basically if my math is correct and I looked the data up correctly on the internet, the total dry land weight with the HP120 is pretty much the same as with the Al80, but I sink really fast and have 1.5 times the bottom time. With and HP80 I have a dry land wieght of 10lbs less than with an AL80 but no other advantage. With an HP100 I weigh about 5lbs less on dry land than with an Al80 and will have 25% more bottom time.

So if I have to interpret this data, I would say that the HP120 is the best bet becuase I will be the same wieght on dry land, and have more bottom time.

Am I right, the HP120 looks like the best tank for the $ given it is only $100.00 more than the HP80 and $40 more than the HP100. Disregarding $ is there any real advantage to HP80 or HP100 that I have missed.

Thanks in advance.

There is no arguing that CF per dollar the HP 120 is the best HP buy.