Help a newbie find a good "first" dive camera!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Valadian

Registered
Reaction score
Hi guys

I'm in the market for a good yet not overly complicated, beginner's dive camera. I'd like a digital camera but dont have the money for some big multi-thousand dollar monstrosity. Probably just something good for point and shoot type stuff. I'm a total newbie when it comes to photography (land or sea), never taken a photography class and only have limited experience with underwater photography. We (family) used to have a Sealife Reefmaster 35mm camera, but it was mainly just the "family camera" that my dad and I and my brother would trade off and take pictures with. As you can imagine most of them were rather crappy to say the least. After it flooded about 4 years ago we were told it would be more economical to just buy a new camera then bother with trying to fix it, so we just said screw it to underwater photography for awhile. Now however I'd really like to be able to start accumulating some pictures. :)