Helmets While Diving Anyone?

Have you Ever Worn a Helmet/Hardhat while Diving?

• Yes

Votes: 9 24.3%
  • No

Votes: 28 75.7%

• Total voters

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

QKRTHNU

Reaction score
After reading the "death in Palau" thread I got to thinking.

Everything we do from the moment we wake up and get out of bed has potential risks. Bottom line....... Life is Dangerous!

I'm new to diving, just got certified in Feb 03'. But I'm getting to the point where I'm not a Noob in the whole Life thing (26yo). I realize that I'm not indestructible like I once thought.

I've been snowboarding for several years. I've busted my head plenty of times. I've now decided that I'm going to purchase a helmet.

Did you know that before helmets were required wear for soldiers more of them died from accidental head wounds (falling down etc.) than from actual battle.

When Diving I would think the possibility of a head wound is pretty high, even in tropical reef diving, let alone wreck/cave diving.

It's one thing to bump your head and go unconsious while on land. It's a whole new level of risk underwater. :wacko:

Do any of you wear helmets / hard-hats?

There is actually a helmet listed on www.liesurepro.com. I don't know that it's specifically designed for SCUBA, looks more like a Spelunking helmet to me, but it must work.
http://s1059kxm.leisurepro.com/webapp/commerce/command/ProductDisplay?prrfnbr=78151&prmenbr=946

Are there any other helmets out there specifically designed for SCUBA?

Thanks!