GoPro and Diving: how do you hold your GoPro?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

lros79

New
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
So Im brand new to diving. Haven't been in "real" open water yet, just a small lake for my open water course.
We're going to Bonaire in a couple weeks and everything I've looks at for my GoPro doesn't seem... well, there doesn't seem to actually be anything made for diving order than to awkwardly hold it.

I made this below. I took it in for a splash and it worked amazingly well. Very comfortable to hold. Integrates both the camera and the flashlight into one unit to grab onto (when I go diving the flashlight will be hand held and a 300mw diving laser will be there instead).

So a couple questions for a couple of the seasoned divers that use GoPro.

1) How do you dive with your GoPro?
2) Do you see anything wrong with this setup?
3) Can you suggest anything I might want to change/add?
4) Would like be something that other people would want?

(I'll be adding a clip to it, and there's a seperate hook on the laser as a backup lanyard type thing)

Let me know what you guys think. I'll have some fun pics and vids soon.

Facebook

goproforum.jpg
figured out how to include an actual pic, sorry about the crappy link :)

Replace your dome lens for a flat lens... (Oculus R5 GoPro HD Flat Lens Round) sorry about the dutch link, just google for "gopro oculus"

And lightwise you may want to use a light with a flood reflector instead of a beam.