good regulator for newb and nitrox..

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

LakeMountD

Registered
Reaction score
i am not gonna be using nitrox from the beginning but later on i plan to.. im very new to all this but i heard using titanium regulators with nitrox is a bad idea.. so what would be a decent regulator to get that would run both nitrox and reg mixes and is dependable... i dont, however, want to know the most expensive lol..

Buy any reg u like and use it with air for now and u can use it up to 40% O2, but later on if u want to use it for a mix higher that 40% O2 send to some one and make it O2 clean.
I never heard about titanium with nitrox are bad idea???

LakeMountD once bubbled...
i am not gonna be using nitrox from the beginning but later on i plan to.. im very new to all this but i heard using titanium regulators with nitrox is a bad idea.. so what would be a decent regulator to get that would run both nitrox and reg mixes and is dependable... i dont, however, want to know the most expensive lol..
You can't go wrong with Apeks or Scubapro.

wazza once bubbled...
Buy any reg u like and use it with air for now and u can use it up to 40% O2, but later on if u want to use it for a mix higher that 40% O2 send to some one and make it O2 clean.
I never heard about titanium with nitrox are bad idea???

Titanium and many other metals can oxidize rapidly (read burn) when exposed to high concentrations of O2 at high pressures.