G250 HP vs S550

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jeferpat

Registered
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm new to both scuba diving and this forum. I'm getting ready to purchase my 1st and 2nd stage regulators. For the 1st stage I'm getting the mk25, but for the 2nd I'm undecided between the G250 HP and the S550. What are the major advantages/disadvanges between the two? The guy at the LDS says the G250 is old technology and is way bigger than the S550. If this is true why is the G250 more expensive than the S550? Is it worth the cost to upgrade to the S600 or X650? I thank you in advance for your replies.

It never fails to amaze me what salesmen will say....

I'm pretty sure you'll find most people on this forum in favor of the G250; you could do a search for posts by DA aquamaster about scubapro 2nd stages and you'll get the specifics. OTOH, either one of these would be more than adequate.

I would kind of second the MK2 R190 suggestion if you're just getting into diving. It's ultra reliable, plenty of performance for recreational diving, and it has the added advantage of undoubtedly frustrating the "informative" salesman at your LDS who is pushing the expensive reg at you for questionable reasons.