Flash question

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Cannon ball

Reaction score
Hi! I'm a beginner for underwater photography. As I check on strobes, their price are so high. So I wonder why people use strobe instead of make a housing for normal flash. My Pentax MZ-S camera has wireless P.TTL capability. It would be easy to make a housing for this flash since it is wireless (and should be cheaper than buying a strobe).

Thanks

housing for strobe is not neccessarily cheap either. Subal housing for Nikon SB800 is well over $500. I am not sure how reliable wireless connection is underwater since it will have to go through 2 housing at least. If it is infrared then it definitely won't travel far underwater especially if it has to go through 2 aluminium housing or thick polycarbonate housing.

Cannon ball:
Hi! I'm a beginner for underwater photography. As I check on strobes, their price are so high. So I wonder why people use strobe instead of make a housing for normal flash. My Pentax MZ-S camera has wireless P.TTL capability. It would be easy to make a housing for this flash since it is wireless (and should be cheaper than buying a strobe).

Thanks