Fisheries Queensland director killed by Carbon Monoxide

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

I've been testing tanks for CO for about 2 years now and found 2 contaminated tanks (filled the same day). The shop overhauled their compressor and refilled the tanks.

I've heard of at least one incident at Wayne's in cave country... I don't remember the details but they were posted on SB and CDF.

CO happens. If you test your tanks, then it's not that big of a deal when it does happen.

Oh, since it has come up in the discussion. The compressor used to fill my two tanks was electric. We assume that the CO got into his intake on top of the building, but aren't 100% certain.

Oh, since it has come up in the discussion. The compressor used to fill my two tanks was electric. We assume that the CO got into his intake on top of the building, but aren't 100% certain.
If an electric compressor overheats, it can partially burn its own oil, producing CO internally. Not well known, but factual - and who knows how common.

If an electric compressor overheats, it can partially burn its own oil, producing CO internally. Not well known, but factual - and who knows how common.
Not the first time I have heard about that, and I'm not even a "professional" diver. It could be what happened in this case, or it could have come from the intake. I doubt the shop knows - if they do then they never told me.