Firefighter Wants to Expand into PSD

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Fireman Ken

Registered
Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

I am new to ScubaBoard and so far have enjoyed the postings and folks I've chatted with on-line.

I am a fairly experienced diver. I just got my Divemaster Certification, and am very much involved in technical diving, cave diving, deep diving, etc. I am also an active Volunteer Firefighter and EMT in Fairfax County, VA Fire and Rescue and would like to shift my focus to rescue/recovery diving. Although I'd like to shift my focus into Public Safety Diving, as a volunteer, I don't have a clue on how to get the ball rolling.

Are there such groups near the Washington, D.C. area where I live? Who would I contact to get started? I'm even willing to drive a distance to get involved and my day job does offer some flexibility.

Any advice and leads would be very much appreciated.

Thanks,

Ken C

Hello Fireman Ken,

I am a diver/ Vol firefighter in AL, after seeing your post I did some research and came up with the following link: http://www.diverescueintl.com/training.html
It looks like it should give you some help as to where to get started and they mat be able to point you in the right direction from there. Let me know how it goes, good luck.

Ken;