fins question

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

peggyhag

Reaction score
I am just learning to dive, I would be diving in mostly fresh water areas: IE: the Great Lakes and need to know if anyone can suggest a good fin. I was looking at the Tilos Glide fins. Any comments or referrals on this?

I've dove in that area quite a bit. It depends on your dive style somewhat, but I prefer Force Fins and have used them since 1996. Most of my Diving has been boat based.

Now these fins are are awesome for someone who is looking for long lasting quality scuba gear. I have never had any leg cramps or strains with these fins, my longest swim was about a 1/2 mile when the anchor slipped and the boat watcher was not paying attention. They make noisemakers for that now...

Also, once you get used to them, they are very handy for maneuvering around wrecks, etc. You can check out their web site Force Fin or on scubaboard they are very active in their own forum Force Fin - ScubaBoard The only thing, is they are not really intended for snorkeling -- although they may have other styles that will be good for both.

In any event, someday I will have a set of their ruby red translucent fins. For now, the force fin Pro will have to do, and unfortunately they are never going to wear out. Welcome to diving and have a great and safe time.

There is a video, which should be required watching for new divers, please watch it and think about it YouTube - Diving Accident Potential For A Bad Outcome Bahamas 12/12/08