Fiber Optic Frustration

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

bladephotog

Contributor
Reaction score
I have a Reefmaster digital flash I'm using with my Canon A85. The problem I have is sometimes it works sometimes it refuses to fire. I'll test fire it on the surface, which it always works, and then descend. It works on about half my dives. And it will either work at the start or won't work at all. I've had one dive when it started working midway throught the dive.

The fiber optic cable is mounted about 1 inch away from the housing in the Inon diffuser hole. I tried using it mounted on the housing when I first bought the thing but it did the same thing.

Any suggestions to make it more reliable. When it works it works very well. I shoot everything in manual and I can dial it in to my liking. I'm a photojournalist BTW so I know quite a bit about cameras but nothing about fiber optic strobes. Other than my works sometimes.

And I know I get what I pay for. But a considerable chunk of my money goes into my growing tech diving habit. Yikes! And frankly I've published quite a few pix using this setup. Just want to make it more reliable. Am I asking too much?

Thanks