Fast drying wetsuits?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

100days-a-year

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
5000 - ∞
Dive year round and getting tired of changing into a cold wetsuit 3 to 6 times a day in the winter.

I need a wetsuit ,saw Henderson Instadry was NLA so asking here

3 to 5 mm,doesn't matter if 1 or 2 piece.
Dries in minutes
Under $500
Absolutely not interested in drysuits or parkas.I spearfish for a living and need mobility.Tried parkas to stay warm between dives with no success as air temps are sometimes down to 40s and WT can get into hi 50s.

TIA

I take a different approach. I could care less if the inside of my suit dries since I spray it with a highly-dilute water and soap mixture. There is no internal fabric lining, just rubber. It slides on as if it were washed down with 10w-40. It is the norm in freediving and there are some Neoprene blends with "split-cells" that are more resistant to suit compression than others (better for Scuba). Split-cells, rather than smooth skin, act like millions of tiny suction cups that reduce water circulation. It also keeps the thickness of the water film between you and the suit to a minimum so the suit warms up faster.

There are quite a few Scuba divers in Florida using Mako freediving suits.

I'd second the comfort of a well fitting freediving suit, less horrible to slip on wet than the furry diver's wetsuits.