Ear Trouble

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Alright I'm sure we've all heard this one before.
I have been diving for around 4 years and in the beginning I never had any trouble with my ears. The next year I hopped in the water again and found that I was having an extreme amount of trouble equalizing. I'm not sure exactly what my problem is, I have tried various methods of equalizing and just being plain slow about descending but I still have a lot of pain even if a go extremely slow and equalize every few feet.
I'm also not sure why it started to happen a year after I started diving. My theory is that I grew in between, since I started diving at 12, and something happened that made it difficult.
I was wondering if anyone had any ideas or recommendations that might make it easier. Thanks in advance.

I too would like to know what causes that sort of thing. My girlfriend usually takes 5-10min to descend 30' because one ear may equalize and not the other, or both. I can hit 30' in 15 seconds! I would like to offer some kind of advice to her and help her move along.

Look forward to seeing what others have to say!

A visit to your local ENT (ear-nose-throat) doctor can rule out any anatomical factors that prevent rapid descends.
If you can rule out things such as tonsils, narrow Eustachian tubes etc then you'll know the problem is your technique. We can help you with technique, but we can't help you with your god given parts. :wink:

In the mean time I suggest looking up two things