Durable Safe Reliable Regulator??

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

HoyaSaxa

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I'm brand new here, but I've been diving for about 15 years. I am finally ready to buy a regulator and need some advice.

I have about $300 to spend on a 1st and 2nd stage set. I've looked at the Zeagle Envoy Deluxe and the Dacor American viper. I have no idea how to choose between them.

I am a recreational diver who never uses anything other than regular air. I stay above 120' and don't dive in cold water. I have, however, been at 100' when both my primary and octopus failed, and I didn't enjoy having to buddy dive with only ten minutes of air left in my buddy's tank!

So, I really want a regulator that will be reliable and safe. I will get it serviced yearly, but I'm not equiped to handle a lot of on-site tinkering and adjustments.

A control to adjust the flow of air would be a nice feature.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!!!!
-- Brian

personally i'd go with the zeagle, but that's just brand preference on my part, i've never dove the dacor, but i've always heard good things about zeagle

Personal preference... If I were buying a new set-up, I'd go with Scubapro:

1st stage: MK16 (or MK25 for a bit more)
2nd stage: X650
Octopus: AIR2