DSLR: How do you handle the weight ?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Moloch

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Having just entered the dark path of DSLR photography I finally got my housing yesterday.
I have never done any U/W photography before, but was surprised at the total weight of the rig.
I got an Oly E-400/PT E-03 plus a single Sea & Sea YS-110 strobe.
DSLRs don`t come any lighter.

Question: Do you change anything about your buoyancy ?
I usually use 2 kilos of trim weight at the back, but wonder now if this is such a good idea with several kilos of camera in my hands.
Probably wiser to move the weight to the hip.......

And I just realised that the often heard idea of placing one Hand/finger on a dead piece of coral for stability is totally worthless with the DSLR.

I am seriously considering weight lifting excersises before the next vacation.........:shakehead

I don't change anything in my buoyancy, per se, because I still have to be able to maintain depth at a safety or deco stop. If I had to ditch the camera (shhh, don't even think that!) because of an emergency, I would no longer have that weight at the end of the dive.

However, it is always a good idea to make sure your weighting is as close to perfect as possible. Some divers add a little extra weight just to be safe. Clearly that would not be a good idea with the extra weight of the camera set-up.